The area was formerly known as “Cooper’s Grove” and had been the home of German farmers who had settled the land in the 1800s. In 1872, a church was founded by early settlers who named it St. John’s Lutheran Church and school. The church was finished in 1973 and still stands today.
The area’s large lots and stylish homes on expansive streets became a quick draw for new families. Nearly 117 homes were established in the area by 1956 and the Country Club Hills Homeowners Association made a concerted effort for incorporation. In 1958, the city was incorporated with a Mayor-Aldermanic government.
A 131 year old farm house at 177th Street an Crawford served as the city’s first City Hall. It was modestly renovated and leased for $1 per year. In April of 1972, a new complex at 175th Place was dedicated as a municipal complex. The structure serves as the current Police Department today.
Situated 26.1 miles south of the Chicago Loop, Country Club Hills is today bordered by Hazel Crest, Flossmoor, Oak Forest, Markham and Tinley Park. Country Club Hills boasts some of the most sought after development projects in the south Chicago suburbs.
According to the 2010 census, there were 16,169 people, 5,662 households, and 4,243 families populating the city.
Among its most notable residents have been New York Giants linebacker Danny Clark, New York Jets defensive back Marquice Cole and blues legend Koko Taylor.